ASTM Classification of cement

ASTM Classification of Cement

Posted by

ASTM classifies cement into Type I, Type II, Type III, Type IV, Type V and other sub-types like Type IP, Type IA, Type IIA, Type IIIA.
ASTM classification of cement is described here extensively.

Type I Cement

This type of cement is for OPC. Where special properties specified in Type II, III, IV and V are not required, this type is used to designate the cement class.

Type II Cement

Where there is moderate sulfate action and some amount of heat of hydration is required, these types of cement falls in this category.

Type III Cement

These types of cement have high early strength. (Rapid Hardening Cement)

Type IV Cement

Where high sulfate resistance is required, this type of cement is used.

Type IP Cement

This type of cement is a perfect uniform blend of OPC and pozzolanic material.

Type IA, IIA and IIIA Cement

These types of cement have air-entraining admixtures inter-ground with cement.

Top Cement Manufacturing Companies in USA

  1. LafargeHolcim
  2. CRH Plc.
  3. Cemex
  4. Lehigh Hanson
  5. Buzzi Unicem
  6. Eagle Materials
  7. CalPortland Company

Read Also-
Commonly used admixtures in concrete
Grade of concrete with technical aspect


What is the full form of ASTM?

ASTM stands for American Society of Testing and Materials.

What is the full form of OPC?

OPC is the acronym for Ordinary Portland Cement.

What is the full form of PPC?

PPC is short form of Portland Pozzolana Cement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *